🏆 Winner: Sebastian Vettel
🏎️ Constructors Champion: Red Bull
Most wins: Sebastian Vettel (11)
Most pole positions: Sebastian Vettel (15)
💨 Most fastest laps: Mark Webber (7)

After winning the title in 2010, Sebastian Vettel stormed to another title in the 2011 F1 season. Winning a total of 11 races, Vettel and Red Bull dominated for the majority of the season. When Vettel wasn’t sticking it on pole position, his teammate Mark Webber was up there.

Calander-wise, the Bahrain GP was cancelled due to unrest in the country, and the Indian Grand Prix made its debut at the Buddh International Circuit.

2011 F1 Drivers Championship Standings

1Sebastian Vettel392
2Jenson Button270
3Mark Webber258
4Fernando Alonso257
5Lewis Hamilton227
6Felipe Massa118
7Nico Rosberg89
8Michael Schumacher76
9Adrian Sutil42
10Vitaly Petrov37
11Nick Heidfeld34
12Kamui Kobayashi30
13Paul di Resta27
14Jaime Alguersuari26
15Sebastien Buemi15
16Sergio Perez14
17Rubens Barrichello4
18Bruno Senna2
19Pastor Maldonado1
20Pedro de la Rosa0
21Jarno Trulli0
22Heikki Kovalainen0
23Vitantonio Liuzzi0
24Jerome d’Ambrosio0
25Timo Glock0
26Narain Karthikeyan0
27Daniel Ricciardo0
28Karun Chandhok0

Mid-season driver changes

  • Former McLaren driver Pedro de la Rosa replaced Sergio Perez due to Perez feeling unwell at the Canadian Grand Prix.
  • Daniel Ricciardo replaced Narain Karthikeyan at Hispanic Racing after the Candian Grand Prix, with the future Red Bull race winner making his debut at Silverstone.
  • Karun Chandhok replaced Jarno Trulli for Team Lotus at the German Grand Prix, but Trulli took his seat back for Hungarian Grand Prix.
  • Bruno Senna replaced Nick Heidfeld at Lotus Renault at the Belgian Grand Prix for the remainder of the season.

Note: The 2010 season used the following points system:

Sebastian Vettel F1 2011 Season

2011 F1 Constructors Championship Standings

1Red Bull650
6Force India69
8Toro Rosso41

2011 F1 Season Schedule

125-27th MarchAustralian Grand PrixAlbert Park
28-10th AprilMalaysian Grand PrixSepang International Circuit
315-17th AprilChinese Grand PrixShanghai International Circuit
46-8th MayTurkish Grand PrixIstanbul Park
520-22nd MaySpanish Grand PrixCircuit de Catalunya
626-29th MayMonaco Grand PrixMonte-Carlo
710-12th JuneCanadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles Villeneuve
824-26th JuneEuropean Grand PrixValencia Street Circuit
98-10th JulyBritish Grand PrixSilverstone
1022-24th JulyGerman Grand PrixNurburgring
1129-31st JulyHungarian Grand PrixHungaroring
1226-28th AugustBelgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps
139-11th SeptemberItalian Grand PrixMonza
1423-25th SeptemberSingapore Grand PrixSingapore
157-9th OctoberJapanese Grand PrixSuzuka
1614-16th OctoberKorean Grand PrixKorean International Circuit
1728-30th OctoberIndian Grand PrixBuddh International Circuit
1811-13th NovemberAbu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Island
1925-27th NovemberBrazilian Grand PrixInterlagos

2011 Key Facts & Stats

  • Sebastian Vettel produced remarkable form in the first part of the season in a very fast Red Bull car. He finished outside the top two for the first time in the tenth round, at the German Grand Prix, which was his home race.
  • Sebastian Vettel claimed 15 pole positions in the whole season, breaking Nigel Mansell’s record.
  • Felipe Massa failed to finish on the podium for Ferrari all season, and he was the first Ferrari driver to not finish on a podium in an F1 season since 1992.
  • Rubens Barrichello ended his F1 career with Williams, after 18 years in the sport.
  • F1 came to India for the first time in 2011, with the Buddh International Circuit hosting The Indian Grand Prix.
  • The Bahrain Grand Prix was supposed to open the season in March but was cancelled due to political unrest in the country.
  • The 107% rule was brought back into qualifying for the 2011 F1 season. The 107% rule means that if a driver fails to complete a lap time that is within 107% of the fastest lap time, then they are unable to qualify for the race. In the first race of the season, both Narain Karthikeyan and Vitantonio Liuzzi failed to qualify.

Who won the 2011 F1 Championship?

Sebastian Vettel won the 2011 F1 Championship, becoming the youngest-ever back-to-back winner, after winning his first title in 2010.

Who did Lewis Hamilton race for in 2011?

In 2011, Lewis Hamilton alongside Jenson Button for McLaren.

How many wins did Lewis Hamilton have in 2011?

Lewis Hamilton won three times in 2011, at the Chinese Grand Prix, the German Grand Prix and the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Who had the best car in 2011?

Red Bull had the best car in 2011, as Vettel won 11 times, along with 15 pole positions.