🏆 Winner: Sebastian Vettel
Constructors Champion: Red Bull
Most wins: Sebastian Vettel & Fernando Alonso (5)
Most pole positions: Sebastian Vettel (10)
Most fastest laps:
Fernando Alonso & Lewis Hamilton (5)

The 2010 F1 season was another big season of change (much like the 2009 season), with refueling banned, new teams, a brand new driver World Champion and constructors World Champion.

The points system was also overhauled, with points awarded for a win going from 10 points to 25 points, and F1 legend Michael Schumacher returned to the sport after retiring in 2006.

2010 F1 Drivers Championship Standings

1Sebastian VettelRed Bull256
2Fernando AlonsoFerrari252
3Mark WebberRed Bull242
4Lewis HamiltonMcLaren240
5Jenson ButtonMcLaren214
6Felipe MassaFerrari144
7Nico RosbergMercedes142
8Robert KubicaRenault136
9Michael SchumacherMercedes72
10Rubens BarrichelloWilliams47
11Adrian SutilForce India47
12Kamui KobayashiBMW Sauber32
13Vitaly PetrovRenault27
14Nico HulkenbergWilliams22
15Vitantonio LiuzziForce India21
16Sebastien BuemiToro Rosso8
17Pedro de la RosaBMW Sauber6
18Nick HeidfeldBMW Sauber6
19Jaime AlguersuariToro Rosso5
20Heikki KovalainenLotus Racing0
21Jarno TrulliLotus Racing0
22Karun ChandokHispania F10
23Bruno SennaHispania F10
24Lucas di GrassiVirgin Racing0
25Timo GlockVirgin Racing0
26Sakon YamamotoHispania F10
27Christian KlienHispania F10

Mid-season driver changes

  • Sakon Yamamoto & Christian Klien both replaced Karun Chandok after he was replaced after round 10.
  • Nick Heidfeld replaced Pedro de la Rosa at BMW Sauber after round 14.

Note: The 2010 season used the following points system:

Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 2010
Sebastian Vettel in 2010 – image via Wikiepedia

2010 F1 Constructors Championship Standings

1Red Bull498
7Force India68
8BMW Sauber44
9Toro Rosso13

2010 F1 Season Schedule

1March 12-14thBahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit
2March 26-28thAustralian Grand PrixAlbert Park, Melbourne
3April 2nd-4thMalaysian Grand PrixSepang International Circuit
4April 16-18thChinese Grand PrixShanghai International Circuit
5May 7-9thSpanish Grand PrixCircuit de Catalunya
6May 13-16thMonaco Grand PrixMonte-Carlo
7May 28-30thTurkish Grand PrixIstanbul Park
8June 11-13thCanadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal
9June 25-27thEuropean Grand PrixValencia Street Circuit
10July 9-11thBritish Grand PrixSilverstone
11July 23-25thGerman Grand PrixHockenheimring
12July 30th-August 1stHungarian Grand PrixHungaroring
13August 27-29thBelgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps
14September 10-12thItalian Grand PrixMonza
15September 24-26thSingapore Grand PrixSingapore
16October 8-10thJapanese Grand PrixSuzuka
17October 22-24thKorean Grand PrixKorean International Circuit
18November 5-7thBrazilian Grand PrixInterlagos
19November 12-14thAbu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Island

2010 Key Facts & Stats

  • Ahead of the 2010 F1 season, the grid was expanded to 24 cars, with new teams HRT (Hispania Racing Team), Virgin Racing, and Lotus joining the grid.
  • Due to the addition of the new teams, the points system was overhauled, with 25 points being awarded for a win, as opposed to 10.
  • 2009 constructor champions Brawn GP were bought out by Mercedes Benz, who returned to the sport for the first time since 1955.
  • Michael Schumacher came out of retirement to come back and race for Mercedes Benz, where he partnered with Nico Rosberg.
  • Following the buyout of Brawn GP, Jenson Button moved to McLaren, where he became a teammate to Lewis Hamilton.
  • Refueling was banned for the 2010 season, as a way to reduce costs for the teams.
  • Sebastian Vettel became the youngest-ever driver to win the World Championship, at the age of just 21.
  • Red Bull won their first-ever constructors championship, beating McLaren to number one.
  • There was a race in South Korea for the first time ever, as the Korean International Circuit made its debut on the calendar.
  • Donnington Park was set to take over Silverstone in 2010, but Donnington failed to make up the funds required and Silverstone made a deal with Formula One to return.

Who won the 2010 F1 Championship?

Sebastian Vettel won the 2010 F1 Championship, becoming the youngest-ever winner at just 21 years of age.

Who did Lewis Hamilton race for in 2010?

In 2010, Lewis Hamilton raced for McLaren, alongside fellow Brit Jenson Button.

How many wins did Lewis Hamilton have in 2010?

Lewis Hamilton won three times in 2010, at the Turkish GP, Canadian GP, and the Belgian GP.

Who had the best car in 2010?

Red Bull had the best car in 2010, as Vettel and Webber won 9 times between them that season, more than any other team.